BNI – Volunteered as Education Co-ordinator

I have managed to be volunteered as the Education Co-ordinator for my local BNI chapter.  I don’t mind doing this task, as I have decided that it will give me more training in standing up in front of people on a regular basis, it will improve my confidence and it will make me focused about presenting for a minimum of 4 minutes.

Mind you there was one small flaw in the plan today.  Having agreed to be volunteered and been told that the announcement would be made in today’s meeting.  Upon arrive, I was asked by our Chapter Director what was I going to do the education slot on today.  After picking myself up from the floor, drinking a large cup of coffee, I said

“I don’t know yet as I was under the impression it was going to be next week.  Give me a few minutes and I will think of something”.

I gave a presentation on how to give a 10 presentation, stating that you need to have at least 1/2 hours preparation time (I have already broken that rule, I should have spent about 30 minutes preparing this education slot).  I told everyone that a 10 minute presentation is: 

  • A free sound bite about your company, with a captive audience. 
  • Your opportunity to  demonstrate the passion you have for your business
  • The members in our BNI group are there to help.  We are in a safe environment, where we can practice our presentation before present it in front of a prospective client.
  • Just because the slot is for 10 minutes, it doesn’t mean that you have to use the whole 10 minutes.  If you feel more comfortable only speak for 5 minutes.

 I think it was received well.

Leave a Reply

